My Summer Sun

I passed the street

Where you used to be

The other day

And I walked down to see

If it was still the same

If things still stood in the same place

Because everything else had changed

You didn’t leave a trace

 

Three years have gone by

Maybe four

And next year it will be

One more

I was miserable

When you left

Just wanted you to know

Haven’t forgotten you yet

 

You were

My summer sun

You’d come over

And we’d have fun

You were

The autumn air

Billowing leaves

Through my hair

You were

Soft Winter snow

Where you went

I would go

You were

Spring’s flowers and rain

You gave me joy

You eased my pain

You were

Everywhere

I needed you

Now you’re not there

 

I read some

Old letters you sent

And remembered a girl

Who was once my friend

Now she’s different

But so am I

So why am I the only one

Who seems to miss you inside

 

If you would listen

I would say

The things that run through

My head everyday

It’s too late now

You’re long gone

Why are you still in my thoughts

Hours after dawn

 

You were

My summer sun

You’d come over

And we’d have fun

You were

The autumn air

Billowing leaves

Through my hair

You were

Soft Winter snow

Where you went

I would go

You were

Spring’s flowers and rain

You gave me joy

You eased my pain

You were

Everywhere

I needed you

Now you’re not there

 

Time is passing

It never stops

It fails to heal these wounds

I keep opening up

Somewhere

Somehow

We took a wrong turn

If I don’t know my mistake

How am I supposed to learn

 

On a rainy day

I will stare out

Wondering if

You’ve ever thought about

Me and you

And if you’ve not

Then though it hurts

I’ll untie the knot

That keeps me hoping

And I’ll let go

No sense in moping

Over what existed

Years ago

 

You were

My summer sun

But that stage finished

Now it’s done

You were

My autumn air

I no longer see you

Everywhere

You were

Soft Winter snow

That no longer

Comes to my home

You were

Spring’s flowers and rain

Now thinking of you

Brings me pain

 

You were

A part of my life

That’s disappeared

Burned out like a light

You were

My best friend

But I’ll move on now

Because this is the end

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

