A Happy Present

Right now I feel on top of the world. My boyfriend is coming to visit me tomorrow. I am now a published poet. And my friends are talking to me again. I am so happy and excited that it’s hard to sleep. I feel like I love everyone and everything. I feel like life is perfect.

A part of me is scared – when will this end? What am I forgetting? Something is going to come along and stop this feeling. What will it be? How long is my happiness going to last?

But that’s life. Happiness won’t last – but neither will anger, sadness, or shame. Everything comes and goes. And that’s okay.

Something that therapy has taught me is that things will happen that you can’t control, but accepting that you can’t control them is the first step out of hell.

Another thing therapy has taught me is to try and live in the present as much as possible. You can’t change the past and you can’t predict the future, but you do have a say in your present. The only moment you have any control over is now, so focus on dealing with that.

Tips on how to improve or maintain a good mood for as long as possible:

  1. Listen to upbeat, happy music that you enjoy. If you are already happy, the upbeat music should get your heart racing and fill you with warmth.
  2. Treat yourself. Take a nice, warm bubble bath or relax with yummy food or your favourite beverage.
  3. Do something you enjoy. It will feel even better doing it when you’re happy.

Right now my present is happy. So, so happy. I want to get lost in these moments. I want to enjoy this.

Leave a Reply

