If My Heart Goes

If my heart goes

Where no one knows

Where I can’t see

I can only dream

Then tell me why

When I shut my eyes

I cannot see

What haunts my mind

 

I cannot conjure

Up a face

To quiet my heart

To remember my place

Mine you are not

And never shall be

Yet your essence remains

In my memory

 

Do not ask me to leave

I will do it myself

Though my heart pleads otherwise

Common sense will help

Thoughts of consequences to face

I force myself to go

My body turns away

Hiding the sorrow I won’t show

 

If what is out of sight

Is truly out of mind

Then why to you do my thoughts drift to

After you’ve gone

Every time

3 thoughts on “If My Heart Goes

Leave a Reply

