Sunset Roses

Sunset roses
going down
oh how loud
they hit the ground
thorns fly up
when they turn down
sunset roses
going down

Sunset seas
they drown my mind
sunset seas
grow worse with time
I build a boat
and think it’ll stay
but watch as it just
floats away

I try to find perfection in this cracked, imperfect world
I try to find perfection in this fallible, bleak,
bittersweet,
you or me,
set me free,
make me whole make me believe
that the roses aren’t just setting suns
that your promises are the day begun
but then you speak and it’s undone
our bond is just a setting sun

Sunset roses
going down
oh how loud
they hit the ground
thorns fly up
when they turn down
sunset roses
going down

Leave a Reply

