Swallowing Daylight

The walls are coming back up in brick

You won’t see me calling through the picket fence

If ignorance is blissful then I’ll give you a handful

The joyless days are hidden under my sheets

I can’t remember where I placed my pride

But I lost it among the pity pleas

Don’t take me aside and ask any questions

My hands still burn from pursuing the tease

I don’t want the half-hearted remarks of a stranger

Swallowing daylight and my vision’s the sun’s

Until I cross paths with my primary betrayer

Well again today now today is done

 

Leave a Reply

