The Day is Done (In Memory of My Aunt)

The day is done

The lights are out

To the sound of the roads

I fall asleep

 

The clock in my room

Glows green in the dark

Numbers constantly changing

Time I can’t keep

 

I wake in the morning

Throw on some clothes

Make myself breakfast

Stare out at the clouds

 

I start on my work

Think about yesterday

Get ready to leave

But they need to talk to me now

 

The truth is out

All thoughts disappear

Their grip is tight

Cries soft and frightening

 

The house I left

In a dream-like state

To my friends I came

My mind on hold

 

Smiles and laughter

Fluffy light words

Not speaking with anguish

Nothing seems real

 

Hours after I depart

A building storm inside my chest

Erupts into rain

Free to fall

 

So far away

The misery is shared

I took for granted you’d be well

With a broken goodbye

 

Because I put my faith

In the wrong happy ending

So soon after I left you

Why did you die

 

The day is done

The lights are out

To the sound of the roads

I fall asleep

 

The clock in my room

Glows green in the dark

Numbers constantly changing

Time I couldn’t keep

 

I wake up in the morning

Throw on some clothes

Make myself breakfast

Stare up at the sky

 

I lost you to heaven

But I need not cry

For I’ll see you again

The day that I die

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

