Out of the Dark

Tell me a story

In a silent pitch-black room

Tell me a story

In the dark

And I will listen

And I will hear it

But my memory will fail me

In the dark

And you will leave me

Without the light switch

You will leave me

In the dark

You expect me to know

But you never did show

Me how to turn on the light

In the dark

I might find the door

I might walk through the door

And enter the light

Out of the dark

But I won’t understand

Where it comes from and

Why they laugh when I ask them

Out of the dark

I explain what you told me

Yet still they all scold me

About what I don’t know

Out of the dark

They now want to change me,

My thoughts and then train me

To know what they know

Out of the dark

I cannot defend

What I don’t know and

You never explained why

Out of the dark

You told me your stories

Assuming I’d know

The things you never described

Out of the dark

Punishment and Discipline

For things I haven’t done

Brings Frustrated Tears

Out of the Dark

Innocence unnoticed

Conjures doubt and mistrust

And sparks all my fears

Out of the dark

To them, I won’t listen

They diminish and discourage

But I have no other way

Out of the dark

I have no opinion

So to you I listen

I don’t know enough to stay

Out of the dark

But I know there is more

That I can’t ignore

I feel silly and small

In the dark

I try to learn more

Than I knew before

I haven’t learned much at all

Out of the dark

They can’t change my mind

But soon I do find

I long for my time back

In the dark

I know too much

But not enough

To be happy with myself

Out of the dark

Because trying to protect me

Letting nothing intercept me

You always kept me

In the dark

And when I grew older

Stopped looking over my shoulder

But you forgot to enlighten me

In the dark

I am confused

I feel I can’t refuse

I pull back when they take me

Out of the dark

I am loyal to you

And what is familiar to me

I am unsure of how I feel

Out of the dark

I admit I am scared

Of independence and being aware

Of the cruel reality that awaits

Out of the dark

Independence I never had

Gaining quickly, but still I’m sad

Inexperienced, and in much need

Of guidance out of the dark

I don’t know myself

How to learn or how to help

Or if I even want to be

Out of the dark

But if I only stand there

I’ll drown in my despair

And never find my way

Out of the dark

 

 

Leave a Reply

