Restless Night

The sky is crying
Dripping down my window
Circling in the shade
My deepest, darkest misery
The feeling that is nothing
The knowledge that is more
My eyes are raw
And my voice is silk
Pretending, pretending
What now is ending?
What has become and what has gone away?
The silence is roaring
Screaming in my ears
I lie awake in bed
Alone
Music is haunting me
Can’t turn it off
Pinned to my ears
Like the quiet room won’t take
Swallowing glass as I try now to sleep
Shut out the whispers from you, to me
Feeling your fingers in my hair
My chest pulls tight
It aches for your arms
Your face against mine
Rhythmic swaying into you
That one restless, wonderful night

Leave a Reply

