Empty Room

I know I said I’d be okay tonight
I know I told you everything was fine
But here I am watching the pictures on the wall
And I know that I’m not alright

I know I said I’d left the past behind
I know I said the worst of the worst was gone
But I realize that I am still caught up in the middle
And when I said I made it I was wrong

Tell me empty room I am safe
Be my comfort, cold embrace
I won’t call you in this state
I’ll wait for a happier day

I know you said to call if I was sad
I know you said if it got worse to let you know
But I hate to make you frustrated because you just don’t know what to do
So for tonight I’ll let it go

I hope that you’re happy where you are
I hate to be so miserable with you all the time
I hope you know it’s never your fault
Just a terrible disease of the mind

Tell me empty room I am safe
Be my comfort, cold embrace
I won’t call you in this state
I’ll wait for a happier day

I know it’s hard for you to see me like this
I know you only want me to be free
And if I could I would just jump out of this darkness
And be the person we both want me to be

Maybe I will talk to you tomorrow
Maybe I will call tonight after all
Loneliness has its way of making us do things
And maybe it’s time I made a call

Tell me empty room I am safe
Be my comfort, cold embrace
Hear your voice when you pick up the phone
Know that I am not alone

Leave a Reply

