Like You Were Loved

Looking back now I see a different you
And looking back I think you see a different me too
And now that I’m sitting here thinking about you
I can’t even breathe

I remember the times I was just too hard to hold
Remember with pain the times I acted too bold
And how you turned away when we’d gotten too old
For all my childish ways

We couldn’t last
And I know that now but
Darling I fell fast
And you were my first so
I will always remember the way you smelled and everything else like how it felt
to be held for the first time like you were
loved

Sometimes I wonder if you feel regret
Or if thinking bout me, you’d rather forget
Cause I know we had rough times but good too and yet
We just drifted

I’m sorry for everything that I have done
I’m hoping you’re good today wherever you are
I’m wishing you happiness and hope you go far
Hope you wish the same for me

We couldn’t last
And I know that now but
Darling I fell fast
And you were my first so
I will always remember the way you smelled and everything else like how it felt
to be held for the first time like you were
loved

Leave a Reply

