Funeral

You’re like a phantom
limb
that I’ve been
hanging onto

You’re like a lit match
burning
and I’ve been
scalded by
you

Imagine our lives
when you felt that I
was the right
one for you and only you for the rest of time

I will see you at the
funeral
for the death of two parting
souls
hope you give me more than
cold

I will see you for the last
time
Before we say our last
lines
wish you all the best in
your new world

wish I was at a
wedding
not a
funeral

You’re like a fictional
character
that I was
loving in a
dream

Fading and
far away it
never stays then I’m back to
reality

Imagine the days
when you still felt the same
as I still do
I’ll remember you only you for the rest of time

I will see you at the
funeral
for the death of two parting
souls
hope you give me more than
cold

I will see you for the last
time
Before we say our last
lines
Wish you all the best in
your new world

wish I was at a wedding
not a funeral

I thought that we had it right
Little did I know you gave up the fight
Because you felt there was nothing to fight
for

You told me that I’d done no wrong
Nothing to fix, nothing strange going on
Just that the feeling that once overwhelmed you
died

I will see you at the
funeral
for the death of our parting
souls
Please give me something to
hold

I will see you for a last
goodbye
When we say our last
lines
I only wish you the best in
your separate world

But it hurts
Like a shot
Because I always thought

That with you
I’d be at a wedding

not a funeral

Leave a Reply

