Songs for Sorrow

Sometimes you’re not ready to be happy just yet. You can try listening to a happy song or do something fun, but it just doesn’t work because you haven’t let yourself be sad. If you try to push it away sadness might just catch up to you when you don’t want it to. Sometimes the only way to get through it is to ride it out and sit in it for a while, let it run its course, and then feel better. So for the times where you just need to let it out and cry, here is a list of some of the songs I listen to when I’m working through my sadness. It takes time, but usually I feel better once I’ve let everything out.

The Winner Takes It All – ABBA

Stay With Me – OMD

Every Time You Go Away – Paul Young

If You Leave – Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

Missing You – John Waite

Wouldn’t It Be Good – Nik Kershaw

When I Look Into Your Eyes – Firehouse

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John

Sailing – Rod Stewart

Losing My Religion – REM

I’ll Stand By You – Pretenders

Hello – Lionel Richie

Alone – Heart

I Want to Know What Love Is – Foreigner

Four Seasons in one Day – Crowded House

Please Let Me Get What I Want – Dream Academy

Streets of Philadelphia – Bruce Springsteen

Yesterday – The Beatles

Heartbreaker – Dionne Warwick

Insensitive – Jann Arden

The Guitar Man – Bread

 

Blue

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

