The Day You Drove Away

You walked out the door with a frown on your face

I see your tears, and you tell me it’s the rain

But you don’t have to lie, I still respect you the same

And I was screaming your name in my head when you came

 

There’s nothing that I wouldn’t give to keep you home

There’s nothing sadder than a ride in the car all alone

Heading away from what you wanted straight into the unknown

And the windows splashed with rain, swallowing you in your pain

I regret all the words that I did and didn’t say

The day you drove away

 

You left nothing behind, like you weren’t coming back

The first time we fought you said it wouldn’t come to that

And you don’t have to stay gone, I take back what I said

I’m sure that if we tried, we could make it work again

 

There’s nothing that I wouldn’t give to keep you home

There’s nothing sadder than a ride in the car all alone

Heading away from what you wanted straight into the unknown

And the windows splashed with rain, swallowing you in your pain

I regret all the words that I did and didn’t say

The day you drove away

 

I’m wishing you wouldn’t just let me be

In my mind you set me free

I want to go out somewhere with you for awhile

If only to practice my smile

 

Because I lost it

When I lost you

And I stopped leaving the house

When you stopped coming around

And I’m still hurting

And I wonder if you are too

Are you still thinking about me

As much as I think about you

 

There’s nothing that I wouldn’t give to keep you home

There’s nothing sadder than an unused telephone

Waiting for a ring from your call, why can’t I have you at all

And my door is still unlocked, in case you decided to come and knock

Because my days have been so lonely, why couldn’t you have stayed?

The day you drove away

 

Leave a Reply

