Bittersweet Tastes

I got scars talking to you last night
And now I’m sitting here trying not to start a fight
And I know we got our differences but I
Think these bittersweet tastes are messing with our minds

Yeah it’s been a long time, longer than I can say
Since I found you laughing smiling when we parted ways
We’re all claws and teeth, and bruises and cuts
And it seems every sentence comes with a “but”

Make no mistake I’m not asking you to change I just wanted to rearrange our hellos and goodbyes
We start with the happiness and end with the crazy mess please tell me this isn’t our best

I don’t want to reduce us to this

I got scars talking to you last night
Now I’m sitting here trying not to start a fight
And I know we got our differences but I
Think these bittersweet tastes are messing with our minds

We’re hot and cold and yes and no today
Caught in a blazing wildfire adding flames
I’m used to on and off now and I don’t know why
These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives

These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives

I remember back when it was roses and hugs
I was drinking in something different from our love
Now it’s chaos and blame, all explosions and shame
I guess the light couldn’t last, and now the dark’s coming fast

I don’t know where it came from or if what’s done is done or if it’s like a spell we can get rid of
They say you can only move on, so take my hand and let’s run full force into the sunset

like a fairytale end

I got scars talking to you last night
Now I’m sitting here trying not to start a fight
And I know we got our differences but I
Think these bittersweet tastes are messing with our minds

We’re hot and cold and yes and no today
Caught in a blazing wildfire adding flames
I’m used to on and off now and I don’t know why
These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives

These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives
And so we try again, but it’s not long when
Being civil’s cast aside and then we’re making amends
We go back and forth, seesaw between two states of mind
Honey I love you but I’m hurt now, this is gonna take some time

You know that you mean everything and I’m not giving up on us but honey there are things we must address
I’m saying that I love you so and to continue going on we need some emotional balance

Cause every day, I don’t want to be singing this

I got scars talking to you last night
Now I’m sitting here trying not to start a fight
And I know we got our differences but I
Think these bittersweet tastes are messing with our minds

We’re hot and cold and yes and no today
Caught in a blazing wildfire adding flames
I’m used to on and off now and I don’t know why
These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives

These bittersweet tastes are invading our lives

Leave a Reply

